Is HP Sauce vegan?
So, is HP Sauce vegan? It’s a question I see that many people are landing on this blog, trying to answer. I will go into specific detail now about whether HP sauce is vegan*, what HP Sauce it, where to get it, and talk in general about vegan sauces, spices and condiments.
What is HP Sauce?
You might be surprised to know that HP Sauce is over 120 years old; having been invented in the United Kingdom in 1895. It’s one of Liam Gallagher’s favourite sauces too, and in typical rocker style, this is what he has to say about it: “There’s only 2 sauces worth there wait in gold that’s HP and HEINZ the rest can kiss my a***.”
It’s most popular in England, Republic of Ireland, Scotland and Wales, but is also very popular in Commonwealth countries like my home, Australia, New Zealand and also in Canada. You could compare it to American barbeque sauce, yet it has its own distinct characteristics and flavours. If you really want to know the answer to is HP Sauce is vegan, then read on.
What is HP Sauce made of?
HP Sauce is a typical tomato based sauce, yet it is mixed with malt and spirit vinegars, as well as sugars, dates, cornflour, rye flour, salt, spices and tamarind, a tart, multipurpose tropical fruit, harvested from trees in the Indian subcontinent. So, is HP Sauce is vegan?
The sugars in HP Sauce are quite complex, and are a mix of molasses, glucose-fructose syrup, and sugar. Molasses is a thick, viscous by-product that results from refining sugarcane. It’s dark and quite strong, like very tangy maple syrup or golden syrup.
Is HP Sauce vegan?
The answer is yes, HP sauce is vegan, in most countries, but check your local bottle to be sure. The bottle often says ‘suitable for vegetarians’ yet only lists ingredients that are 100% vegan. Depending on how strict you are, HP Sauce should be fine to eat if you’re vegan. Previous recipes may have contained anchovies, yet most recipes today only include barley, rye, sugars, vinegars and spices. Some vegans are strict about not eating products manufactured at factories that also process animal products. For this reason, some vegans may choose not to consume HP Sauce.
Something to be aware of is the fact that the UK HP Sauce bottles say: ‘HP policy of continuous product improvement may result in a change to the label. You are advised to always check the label for changes to the allergen status, ingredients and nutrition of our products’. This seems to mean that ingredients can change over time, so make sure you check your local product.
Where can I get HP Sauce?
In Australia, you can get HP Sauce in the condiment section of your local supermarket. It’s also available to buy online. Failing this, you might like to look for a store that specialises in UK foods. A few of these have popped up in Sydney where I live, to cater to the significant backpacker population here.
If you’re US-based and looking for HP Sauce it seems that you can find it at speciality supermarkets, or have it shipped from Canada. It’s also available to buy on Amazon, so have a search. Honestly, it’s worth trying, as it’s truly unique and delicious. It would taste great with my homemade vegan Quorn, for a start.
What condiments are vegan?
Even if you choose not to eat HP Sauce, there are so many wonderful options out there if you do love vegan sauces and dressings. Check out my post 10 Amazing Vegan Sauces |Vegan Spices & Seasoning for ideas like gremolata, salsa, chimichurri, vegan pesto and more.
In general, vegans avoid anything that is made by an animal, or contains animal products. This includes honey for most vegans. Some preservatives are very common, and many people choose not to eat animal products, some for religious reasons. Have a look at this Australian website where it lists additives that may contain pork or animal products, for example E422 (Glycerol/ Glycerine) and E470 to E483 (Emulsifiers). Preservatives may have different numbers in different countries so always do your own research.
Can vegans have tomato sauce?
Yes, in general they can. However, check the ingredients list of your favourite product, and also check the additives list for the reason above. Make your own “Heinz-style” tomato sauce/ketchup quite easily with tomato paste, glucose syrup, vinegar, sugar, salt, and cloves. Here’s a Heinz style tomato sauce recipe to try – but you may need to swap out some ingredients if you’re vegan or gluten free.
Do you love HP Sauce? Are you vegan and will you eat it? Tell me in the comments below!
*I am not associated with HP Sauce in any way. This is not a promotional post. Try HP Sauce, or don’t; it’s up to you.